Florida Safety Council
Florida Safety Council is a division of United Safety Council worldwide
Sales & Support  407-897-4443 Email:

CERTIFIED OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY SPECIALIST

The heart of the COSS program is the solid foundation built on learning to read and apply the OSHA safety and training requirements in 29 CFR 1910 and 1926.  This 5-day program is designed for those in the safety and health field that coordinate the successful implementation of corporate safety and health plans; coordinate and maybe even conduct safety and health training; and/or provide support to safety and training managers.  Homework is an integral and important part of the course. Readings and exercises are assigned after each class session. Daily quizzes will be given each morning that apply to assignments from the previous night.

Additionally, students will complete a project that will be delivered and presented on the final day of class.

The American Council for Construction Education (ACCE) recognizes COSS. ACCE is the certifying body for construction education for colleges, universities and technical/trade schools. COSS is the only non-degreed program to receive this national endorsement.

Lastly, COSS has been established as a mandatory course for students in the Construction Management Program at Louisiana State University. We are in the process of bringing other universities on board to offer COSS as an academic course.

(5 Day / 40 Hour)

Testimonials

 Price

$2,299.00

  More Details 

Select Date / Time Days Location Seats
 Enroll
Dec 13 Mon 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Dec 14 Tue 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Dec 15 Wed 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Dec 16 Thu 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Dec 17 Fri 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
5 Days
Virtual, Map
0/35
 Enroll
Jan 17 Mon 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Jan 18 Tue 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Jan 19 Wed 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Jan 20 Thu 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Jan 21 Fri 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
5 Days
Virtual, Map
0/35
 Enroll
Feb 7 Mon 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Feb 8 Tue 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Feb 9 Wed 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Feb 10 Thu 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Feb 11 Fri 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
5 Days
Orlando, FL Map
0/30
 Enroll
Feb 14 Mon 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Feb 15 Tue 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Feb 16 Wed 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Feb 17 Thu 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Feb 18 Fri 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
5 Days
Virtual, Map
0/35
 Enroll
Mar 7 Mon 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Mar 8 Tue 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Mar 9 Wed 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Mar 10 Thu 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Mar 11 Fri 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
5 Days
Virtual, Map
0/35
 Enroll
Apr 4 Mon 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Apr 5 Tue 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Apr 6 Wed 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Apr 7 Thu 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Apr 8 Fri 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
5 Days
Virtual, Map
0/35
 Enroll
Apr 11 Mon 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Apr 12 Tue 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Apr 13 Wed 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Apr 14 Thu 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Apr 15 Fri 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
5 Days
Orlando, FL Map
0/30
 Enroll
May 16 Mon 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
May 17 Tue 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
May 18 Wed 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
May 19 Thu 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
May 20 Fri 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
5 Days
Virtual, Map
0/35
 Enroll
Jun 20 Mon 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Jun 21 Tue 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Jun 22 Wed 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Jun 23 Thu 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Jun 24 Fri 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
5 Days
Virtual, Map
0/35
 Enroll
Jul 18 Mon 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Jul 19 Tue 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Jul 20 Wed 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Jul 21 Thu 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Jul 22 Fri 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
5 Days
Orlando, FL Map
0/30
 Enroll
Jul 25 Mon 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Jul 26 Tue 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Jul 27 Wed 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Jul 28 Thu 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Jul 29 Fri 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
5 Days
Virtual, Map
0/35
 Enroll
Aug 15 Mon 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Aug 16 Tue 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Aug 17 Wed 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Aug 18 Thu 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Aug 19 Fri 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
5 Days
Virtual, Map
0/35
 Enroll
Sep 12 Mon 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Sep 13 Tue 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Sep 14 Wed 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Sep 15 Thu 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Sep 16 Fri 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
5 Days
Virtual, Map
0/35
 Enroll
Sep 19 Mon 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Sep 20 Tue 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Sep 21 Wed 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Sep 22 Thu 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Sep 23 Fri 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
5 Days
Orlando, FL Map
0/30
 Enroll
Oct 24 Mon 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Oct 25 Tue 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Oct 26 Wed 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Oct 27 Thu 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Oct 28 Fri 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
5 Days
Virtual, Map
0/35
 Enroll
Nov 14 Mon 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Nov 15 Tue 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Nov 16 Wed 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Nov 17 Thu 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Nov 18 Fri 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
5 Days
Virtual, Map
0/35
 Enroll
Nov 14 Mon 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Nov 15 Tue 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Nov 16 Wed 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Nov 17 Thu 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Nov 18 Fri 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
5 Days
Orlando, FL Map
0/30
 Enroll
Dec 12 Mon 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Dec 13 Tue 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Dec 14 Wed 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Dec 15 Thu 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Dec 16 Fri 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
5 Days
Virtual, Map
0/35
 Details

What you learn from this course:

  • Leadership: Communication & presentation skills;
  • Evaluating effectiveness;
  • Developing a written safety plan delivering safety training:
  • Safety rules & regulations
  • Accident investigation: OSHA 300 requirements
  • Emergency response plans
  • Handling citations & penalties
  • Coordinating multiple worksites
  • Pre-job & job planning Hazard & job safety analysis
  • Students will develop strategies for achieving safety related goals in business environments
  • They will be introduced to key internet links and will learn how to access and utilize these resources.
  • Effective safety committees, meetings, and briefings